2021 Australian Racing Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced

Racing Online - Horse Racing News - Australian Horse Racing News - 2021 Australian Racing Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced
Les Bridge

The annual Australian Racing Hall Of Fame (ARHOF) induction ceremony is being held on Friday, March 14 and the list of 10 racing icons has been released today.

Tie The Knot, Darby McCarthy, Les Bridge and Bob Charley headline the inductees for the prestigious event being held this year in Adelaide.

Thirteen-time Group 1 winner, Tie The Knot had a remarkable career that saw him claim Stakes level races from 1200m to 3200m. Tie The Knot was voted the Australian Champion Stayer for the 1999-2000 season. The former champion joins two-time Cox Plate winning runner Beau Vite, and 1984 Cox plate winner Red Anchor as 2021 inductees. Joining the three legends is Sailor’s Guide who won the Queen Elizabeth Stakes in 1956, but is better known for being just the second Australian race horse to win in the United States following the feats of the great Phar Lap.

Australia’s most recognisable indigenous jockey Richard ‘Darby’ McCarthy OAM will also be acknowledged at the event. In a career that spanned three decades he was prominent in Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne as well as tasting success internationally. McCarthy was awarded the Order Of Australia Medal for his services to racing in 2016.

Les Bridge takes his rightful place in the Australian Racing Hall of Fame following a 60-year career in the industry. Bridge has achieved plenty throughout his career, and perhaps at the top of that was Classique Legend’s win in the 2020 The Everest.

In what is a nice touch, Guy Walter the trainer of the aforementioned Tie The Knot will also be inducted into the Hall Of Fame, the same night as his star performer. Walter trained over 1300 winners from Sydney in his time as a trainer and the induction comes almost seven years after his sudden passing.

ALso being inducted is three-time Melbourne Cup winning jockey William ‘Bill’ McLachlan who is affectionately known as ‘Midget’, joining his great grandson trainer Lee Freedman who was inducted into the Australian Racing Hall Of Fame back in 2003.

Racing administrator Robert ‘Bob’ Charley will also take his place in the Australian Racing Hall Of Fame for a career that has seen him involved in many facets of racing. Charley has been a trainer, owner, breeder, punter, commentator, publisher and was also the chairman of the Australian Racing Hall Of Fame from 2011-2018.

Joining Charley is John Messara AM for his contribution to Australian racing. Messara is widely known for his contribution through Arrowfield Stud which has seen some the greatest stallion’s of their time in Danehill, Redoute’s Choice and Snitzel standing at Arrowfield.

Leave A Comment

Horse Racing Odds

    About To Jump Betting