2021 Hong Kong Vase betting guide

Racing Online - 2021 Hong Kong Vase betting guide

Hong Kong Vase

The Group 1 Hong Kong Vase is one of four Hong Kong International Races (HKIR), sitting alongside the Hong Kong Cup, Hong Kong Mile and the Hong Kong Sprint. The Hong Kong Vase normally attracts a world-class field of staying thoroughbreds

The Europeans have dominated the Hong Kong Vase since its inception in 1994, as staying racing in Hong Kong is non-existent, but that doesn’t stop punters from unloading in what is a true test of stamina on the international stage.

Date December 12, 2021
Venue Hong Kong Jockey Club, Sha Tin Racecourse
Distance 2400 metres
Prize Money HK$20,000,000 (US$2,568,000)
First Running 1994
2020 Winner MOGUL (GB)

Best bookmakers for 2021 Hong Kong Vase odds

Futures and fixed-odds betting for the Hong Kong Vase are available throughout the year. Due to its popularity on the world stage, bookmakers take the Hong Kong Vase very seriously, which means punters often get great odds.

United States Bookies for the Hong Kong Sprint

Bookies for the Hong Kong Sprint

2020 Hong Kong Vase results

Result Horse Trainer Barrier Jockey Weight
1st MOGUL (GB) A P O’Brien 4 Ryan Moore 8-9
2nd Exultant (IRE) S Cruz 5 Zac Purton 9-0
3rd Columbus County (NZ) C Fownes 1 Joao Moreira 9-0
4th Ho Ho Khan (NZ) D J Hall 2 C Y Ho 9-0

Hong Kong Vase history

The Hong Kong Vase takes place mid-December every year at Sha Tin Racecourse on the country’s biggest race day,  where four Group 1 races make up a total kitty of HK$100,000,000 (US$12,836,846). This is a 2400m race for three-year-olds and up. The first running of the HK Sprint was in 1994, and it was awarded Group 1 status in 2000.

Hong Kong Vase records

Fastest Time: Glory Vase (2019) – 2:24.77

Most Wins: Two;

  • Luso (1996, 1997)
  • Doctor Dino (2007, 2008)
  • Highland Reel (2015, 2017)

Most wins by a jockey: Four;

  • Olivier Peslier – Partipral (1995), Borgia (1999), Luso (2007, 2008)

Most wins by a trainer: Three;

  • Aidan O’Brien – Highland Reel (2015, 2017), Mogul (2020)

Most wins by an owner: Three;

  • Derrick Smith, Susan Magnier & Michael Tabor – Highland Reel (2015, 2017), Mogul (2020)




Claim a 50% deposit bonus up to the value of USD $250

read review Bet Now

Previous Hong Kong Mile results

Year Horse Trainer Jockey
2020 Mogul (GB) Aidan O’Brien Ryan Moore
2019 Glory Vase (JPN) Tomohito Ozeki João Moreira
2018 Exultant (IRE) Tony Cruz Zac Purton
2017 Highland Reel (IRE) Aidan O’Brien Ryan Moore
2016 Satono Crown (JPN) Noriyuko Hori João Moreira
2015 Highland Reel (IRE) Aidan O’Brien Ryan Moore
2014 Flintshire (GB) André Fabre Maxime Guyon
2013 Dominant (IRE) John Moore Zac Purton
2012 Red Cadeaux (GB) Ed Dunlop Gerald Mosse
2011 Dunaden (FR) Mikel Delzangles Craig Williams
2010 Mastery (GB) Saeed bin Suroor Frankie Dettori
2009 Daryakana (FR) Alain de Royer-Dupré Gérald Mossé
2008 Doctor Dino (FR) Richard Gibson Olivier Peslier
2007 Doctor Dino (FR) Richard Gibson Olivier Peslier
2006 Collier Hill (GB) Alan Swinbank Dean McKeown
2005 Ouija Board (GB) Ed Dunlop Kieren Fallon
2004 Phoenix Reach (IRE) Andrew Balding Martin Dwyer
2003 Vallee Enchantee (IRE) Élie Lellouche Dominique Boeuf
2002 Ange Gabriel (FR) Eric Libaud Thierry Jarnet
2001 Stay Gold (JPN) Yasuo Ikee Yutaka Take
2000 Daliapour (IRE) Sir Michael Stoute Johnny Murtagh
1999 Borgia André Fabre Olivier Peslier
1998 Indigenous Ivan W. Allan Douglas Whyte
1997 Luso Clive Brittain Michael Kinane
1996 Luso Clive Brittain Frankie Dettori
1995 Partipral Élie Lellouche Olivier Peslier
1994 Red Bishop John Hammond Cash Asmussen

More horse racing guides