2021 Victoria Derby betting guide

Racing Online - 2021 Victoria Derby betting guide

Johnny Get Angry

Date: October 30, 2021
Venue: Flemington Racecourse, 448 Epsom Rd, Flemington VIC 3031
Distance: 2500 metres
Prize Money $2,000,000 AUD
First Running: 1855

VRC Derby Day at Flemington is a highlight of the Australian horse racing calendar. Some love it for the social scene and fashions on the field, but serious punters are all about a card that is stacked with high-quality group races. Gamblers from United States can view the latest Victoria Derby odds at the trusted online bookmakers below.

Best bookmakers for Victoria Derby odds

United States Bookies for the Victoria Derby

Bookies for the Victoria Derby

2020 Victoria Derby Results

Result Horse Trainer Barrier Jockey Weight
1st JOHNNY GET ANGRY (NZ) Denis Pagan 5 Lachlan King (a/53kg) 57Kg
2nd HIT THE SHOT Matt Cumani 9 Fred Kersley 57Kg
3rd YOUNG WERTHER (NZ) Danny O’Brien 4 Damien Oliver 57Kg
4th CHERRY TORTONI Patrick Payne 14 Billy Egan 57Kg

Victoria Derby History And Race Details

The Victoria Derby kicks off the four day Flemington leg of the Melbourne Spring Carnival. The Derby headlines the day which also includes the Coolmore Stud Stakes, Cantala Stakes and the Empire Rose Stakes.

From 1855 to 1971, the race was a 2400 metre chase, but the extra 100 metres to make it a 2500m contenst was added in 1973. The pretty-named Rose of May was the first winner of the race, 160 years ago.

One of the toughest races to win, only won horse has saluted more than once, with Fireworks storming home in 1867 and 1868.

Derby Day is one of the most popular days of the Melbourne spring racing carnival.

You will routinely find 100,000 punters or more packing the stands at Flemington for the event, as 16 runners attempt to claim the derby.

Pointers to this race include the group two Moonee Valley Vase, with last the likes of Tarzino (2015), Efficient (2006), Plastered (2004), Helenus (2002), Blevic (1994) and Raveneaux (1986) all coming through the Moonee Valley race.

Efficient nabbed both races in 2006 and went on to win the Melbourne Cup the year after.

Betting markets for the Victoria Derby

With the Victoria Derby being one of the preeminent races of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, a lot interest is generated not just around the country, but also worldwide.

This increased focus on Australian horse racing means the bookies have to lift their game to cater for the needs of new and existing punters wanting to explore all the regular and exotic markets.

Top Victorian Derby betting options

  • Futures:
    A futures bet is when the bookmaker will open the market – typically weeks or even months in advance – before nominations are set. This gives punters the upper hand if they think they have identified a good thing prior to the race, given odds are much higher due to the fact there is no form or guarantee their horse will actually race in the field.
  • Fixed quinella:
    This bet works exactly the same as a regular quinella, except that bookmakers will give a set price for two particular runners. This market opens as soon as the field is finalised and caters to the punters who do not want their final dividend dictated to them by the market.
  • Head-to-head betting:
    One of the simplest exotics bookmakers put up. The outlet will pit two horses against each other in the race, and the punter selects who they think will finish ahead of the other. It is that simple. Placings in this bet are irrelevant, your horse can finish second last in the race, but providing the horse you went up against finished behind yours, you are a winner.
  • Favourite versus field:
    Another popular bet among punters who do not think the favourite horse in the race is as good a bet as the market suggests. This bet gives you every horse in the race against the favourite. The odds of your return will depend on the popularity of the horse running favourite, and typically in a big field the field bet is smaller.

Previous Victoria Derby Results

Year Horse Trainer Jockey
2020 JOHNNY GET ANGRY(NZ) Denis Pagan Lachlan King
2019 WARNING Anthony Freedman Damien Oliver
2018 EXTRA BRUT Darren Weir John Allen
2017 ACE HIGH David Payne Tye Angland
2016 PRIZED ICON James Cummings Glyn Schofield
2015 MTARZINO(NZ) Mick Price Craig Newitt
2014 PREFERMENT(NZ) Chris Waller Damien Oliver
2013 POLANSKI Robbie Laing Hugh Bowman
2012 FIVEANDAHALFSTAR Anthony Cummings Damien Oliver
2011 SANGSTER(NZ) Trent Busuttin Hugh Bowman
2010 LION TAMER(NZ) Murray Baker Hugh Bowman
2009 MONACO CONSUL(NZ) Michael Moroney Corey Brown
2008 REBEL RAIDER Leon Macdonald Clare Lindop
2007 KIBBUTZ(NZ) David Hayes Craig Williams
2006 EFFICIENT(NZ) Graeme Rogerson Michael Rodd
2005 BENICIO Lee Freedman Noel Callow
2004 PLASTERED Lindsey Smith Paul Harvey
2003 ELVSTROEM Tony Vasil Damien Oliver
2002 HELENUS Leon Corstens Steven King
2001 AMALFI(NZ) Peter G Moody Damien Oliver
2000 HIT THE ROOF(NZ) David Hall Glen Boss
1999 BLACKFRIARS Peter Hayes Greg Childs

More horse racing guides

Leave A Comment