2021 Hong Kong Mile betting guide

Racing Online - 2021 Hong Kong Mile betting guide

Hong Kong Mile

Date December 12, 2021
Venue Hong Kong Jockey Club, Sha Tin Racecourse
Distance 1600 metres
Prize Money HK$26,000,000 (US$3,345,000)
First Running 1991
2020 Winner GOLDEN SIXTY (AUS)

The Hong Kong Mile is one of the four Group 1 races held at Sha Tin Racecourse for its biggest day of the year – the HK International Races. A total of HK$100,000,000 (US$12,865,000) is on offer between the four Group 1 races at the meeting – the Hong Kong Cup, Hong Kong Mile, Hong Kong Vase and Hong Kong Sprint.

Best bookmakers for 2021 Hong Kong Mile odds

United States Bookies for the Hong Kong Mile

Bookies for the Hong Kong Mile

2020 Hong Kong Mile results

Result Horse Trainer Barrier Jockey Weight
1st GOLDEN SIXTY (AUS) K W Lui 7 C Y Ho 9-0
2nd SOUTHERN LEGEND (AUS) C Fownes 6 Karis Teetan 9-0
3rd ADMIRE MARS (JPN) Yasuo Tomomichi 10 Ryan Moore 9-0
4th WAIKUKU (IRE) J Size 5 Joao Moreira 9-0

Hong Kong Mile history

The Hong Kong Mile is one of four Group 1 Hong Kong International Races and is widely considered one of the greatest mile races in the world. Held every December, the US$3.4 million feature is run at Sha Tin and has been won by some of Hong Kong’s greatest champion thoroughbreds. It originated in 1991 as the Hong Kong International Bowl as a 1400 metre race, before changing in 1999 to the present distance and title and then claiming the Group 1 status the following year. Due to the equine virus in 1993, the race was postponed until early 1994.

Hong Kong Mile records

  • Fastest time: Good Ba Ba (2008) – 1:32.71
  • Most wins: Good Ba Ba (2007, 2008, 2009)
  • Most wins by a jockey: Three;
    • Olivier Doleuze – The Duke (2006), Good Ba Ba (2007, 2009)
    • Zac Purton – Ambitious Dragon (2012), Beauty Only (2016), Beauty Generation (2018)
  • Most wins by a trainer: Four;
    • John Moore – Able One (2011), Able Friend (2014), Beauty Generation (2017, 2018)
  • Most wins by an owner: Three;
    • John Yuen Se Kit – Good Ba Ba (2007, 2008, 2009)

Previous Hong Kong Mile results

Year Horse Trainer Jockey
2020 Golden Sixty (AUS) Francis Lui Vincent Ho
2019 Admire Mars (JPN) Yasuo Tomomichi Christophe Soumillon
2018 Beauty Generation (NZ) John Moore Zac Purton
2017 Beauty Generation (NZ) John Moore Derek Leung
2016 Beauty Only Tony Cruz Zac Purton
2015 Maurice (JPN) Ryan Moore Yutaka Take
2014 Able Friend (AUS) John Moore João Moreira
2013 Glorious Days John Size Douglas Whyte
2012 Ambitious Dragon (NZ) Anthony T. Millard Zac Purton
2011 Able One (NZ) Jeff Lloyd Joe Moore
2010 Beauty Flash Tony Cruz Gerald Mosse
2009 Good Ba Ba Derek Cruz Olivier Doleuze
2008 Good Ba Ba Andreas Schütz Christophe Soumillon
2007 Good Ba Ba Andreas Schütz Olivier Doleuze
2006 The Duke (AUS) Caspar Fownes Olivier Doleuze
2005 Hat Trick (JPN) Katsuhiko Sumii Olivier Peslier
2004 Firebreak (UAE) Saeed bin Suroor Frankie Dettori
2003 Lucky Owners (NZ) Tony Cruz Felix Coetzee
2002 Olympic Express Ivan Allan Weichong Marwing
2001 Eishin Preston (USA) Shuji Kitahashi Yuichi Fukunaga
2000 Sunline (NZ) Trevor McKee Greg Childs
1999 Docksider (GB) John Hills Olivier Peslier

More horse racing guides