Memsie Stakes betting guide

Racing Online - Memsie Stakes betting guide

memsie stakes

Run over 1400 metres at Caulfield each spring, the Memsie Stakes is one of the premier weight-for-age sprints in Australian horse racing. Read up on recent results, make yourself familiar with the latest betting trends and find out which online bookies are running the best odds.

Date August 27, 2022
Venue Caulfield Racecourse, Station St, Caulfield East VIC 3145
Distance 1400 metres
Prize Money $1,000,000 AUD
First Running 1899
2021 Winner Behemoth

Best bookies for Memsie Stakes odds

United States Bookmakers for the Memsie Stakes

Bookmakers for the Memsie Stakes

#1 Bovada

Live Betting Odds

Claim a 50% deposit bonus up to the value of USD $250

Available to residents of United States

2021 Memsie Stakes Results

Result Horse Trainer Barrier Jockey Weight
1st BEHEMOTH David Jolly 8 Brett Prebble 59Kg
2nd BEAU ROSSA Will Clarken 1 Ms Linda Meech 58.5Kg
3rd TOFANE Michael Moroney 4 Craig Williams 57Kg
4th AEGON Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman 8 Jye McNeil 58.5Kg

The origins of the Memsie Stakes

The Memsie Stakes has been run in Australia for over 110 years and has one of the richest histories out of any horse race in this proud country. The word ‘memsie’ dates back to before Jesus Christ and means ‘fine pile of rocks’. A place in Scotland is called the burial cairn of Memsie, in Aberdeenshire.

Around 1830 a gentleman by the name of John Catto left his hometown and migrated to Australia, settling in New South Wales. He made a fortune in business and fathered a child, also called John. During this time he built a house and called it ‘Memsie’.

John junior went on to become a successful businessman in his own right and owned a group of champion horses in the 1880 and 90s. The Memsie Stakes was named in his honour in 1899.

How to bet on the Memsie Stakes

Sign up to one of our trusted online bookmakers and you’re set to go. If you’re having trouble finding the Memsie Stakes betting market, head to the Horse Racing section, click on ‘Racing futures’ and the Memsie Stakes will be on the list.

Simply make a deposit, click the horse you want to bet on and it will be added to your betslip. The price the market shows is fixed, so your odds will not change over time.

Place your bet by clicking ‘submit’ and enjoy the Spring Carnival. Bets can also be placed on tablet and mobile devices.

Bet on Australian racing from overseas

It largely depends on where you are based as to where you should bet on Australian races. For instance people in Asian countries like China, Malaysia and Thailand are restricted as to where they can sign-up, with many websites blocked by their respective governments. A website worth trying is Bodog88 which has a good range of Australian horse racing and greyhound racing betting, with good reviews on their deposit and withdrawal process.

The table above displays reliable bookmakers with Australian racing – and almost certainly Memsie Stakes betting – with it clearly stating whether you can access these sites.

If you are from the UK you will find many of your bookmakers like Paddy Power (who own Sportsbet in Australia), William Hill and Bet365 will have extensive markets. Some Australian bookmakers will even accept punters from the UK and many other countries.

Previous Memsie Stakes Results

Year Horse Trainer Jockey
2021 BEHEMOTH David Jolly Brett Prebble
2020 BEHEMOTH David Jolly Craig Williams
2019 SCALES OF JUSTICE Lindsey Smith Dean Yendall
2018 HUMIDOR(NZ) Darren Weir Damian Lane
2017 VEGA MAGIC David Hayes Craig Williams
2016 BLACK HEART BART Darren Weir Brad Rawiller
2015 BOBAN Chris Waller Glyn Schofield
2014 DISSIDENT Peter G Moody Ben Melham
2013 ATLANTIC JEWEL Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd
2012 SINCERO Stephen Farley Michael Rodd
2011 KING’S ROSE(NZ) Peter G Moody Luke Nolen
2010 SO YOU THINK(NZ) Bart Cummings Steven Arnold
2009 MIC MAC Greg Eurell Danny Nikolic
2008 WEEKEND HUSSLER Ross McDonald Brad Rawiller
2007 MISS FINLAND David Hayes Craig Williams
2006 EL SEGUNDO(NZ) Colin Little Darren Gauci
2005 MAKYBE DIVA(GB) Lee Freedman Steven King
2004 REGAL ROLLER Clinton McDonald Mark Flaherty
2003 LE ZAGALETTA Lee Freedman Brett Prebble
2002 MAGICAL MISS Bart Cummings Steven Arnold
2001 SUNLINE(NZ) Trevor McKee Greg Childs
2000 SUNLINE(NZ) Trevor McKee Greg Childs
1999 SIR BOOM Mel Hutchins Greg Hall

More horse racing guides