How to bet on the English Derby

Racing Online - How to bet on the English Derby

English Derby betting

The Epsom Derby, as it is referred to outside of England, is run over one mile and four furlongs and has a prize purse of over 1,250,000 pounds. Many races have tried to emulate it, but few can match the Derby when it comes to the sheer excitement and public interest it brings to the sport. The race brings in a gigantic TV audience worldwide and keeps the sport of kings in the hearts and minds of the people.

DATE: June 04, 2022
VENUE: Epsom Downs Racecourse, Epsom Downs, Epsom KT18 5LQ, United Kingdom
DISTANCE: One Mile And Four Furlongs (2414m)
PRIZE MONEY £1,250,000
United States Bookmakers for the English Derby

Bookmakers for the English Derby

#1 Bovada

Live Betting Odds

Claim a 50% deposit bonus up to the value of USD $250

Available to residents of United States

2021 Epsom Derby Results

Result Horse Trainer Barrier Jockey Weight
1st ADAYAR(IRE) Charlie Appleby 1 Adam Kirby 9-0
2nd MOJO STAR(IRE) Richard Hannon 10 David Egan 9-0
3rd HURRICANE LANE(IRE) Charlie Appleby 5 William Buick 9-0
4th MAC SWINEY(IRE) Jim Bolger 8 Kevin Manning 9-0

Epsom Derby facts

The English Derby is known in some areas of the world as the Epsom Derby. This is due to the fact that the derby moniker was adopted for other races around the world – most notably the Kentucky Derby – but the English refer to it as simply: The Derby.

Epsom DerbyThe inaugural race was in 1780 and is named after the Earl of Derby, who won the right to name the race after winning a coin toss bet with Sir Charles Bunbury.

Only once has a winner been disqualified for interference from the Derby, a horse named Craganour in 1913, after stewards found the horse had inhibited the chances of runner-up Aboyeur in the straight.

In 1844 the race winner Running Rein was stripped of the Derby crown after it was revealed it raced as a four year old. After six weeks in court the title was eventually handed over to the runner-up Orlando.

The derby race was moved to the Newmarket course for a brief period during World War I, but was moved back to its original home after hostilities ended.

As of 2015, 42 Derby winners have gone on to sire victorious winners of the same race.

Tips for betting on the English Derby

With such a long and storied history in the English racing landscape, the English Derby; along with being the richest flat race in the UK, is the biggest and most popular race Britain has to offer.

After changes to the race in the last century, the field for the derby will never be over 20 horses, and as such it makes for a much more competitive race as the level for entry into the field is much higher.

The race is much like any other you will come across with the typical Win, Place, Trifecta and other exotic bets, but because the Derby is such a big race, the fixed odds markets are released much earlier and will fluctuate as horses are scratched or added to the field.

The winner of the 2,000 Guineas, the first leg of the prestigious British triple crown, is installed race favourite, however, only two horses have achieved the feat in the last 10 years, Sea The Stars in 2009 and Camelot in 2012.

Finding a winner in the Derby is becoming even more of an arduous task to, with trainers now opting to work their horse at home rather than going the more traditional route of lead up trail circuit that typically pre-empted the big race, however, the race has belonged to Aidan O’Brien since 2011, with the champion trainer winning an unprecedented three-consecutive Derbies — and winning form is good form when it comes to the horses.

Where to bet on the English Derby

Those punters looking to make an investment on the English Derby will have a lot of options leading up to Britain’s largest and most recognisable flat race. Most of the big corporate bookmakers and sportsbooks around the globe will have a market framed for the Derby months, or sometimes even a year, out from the big event.

A good example of this is betting giant Bet365, they cater to most countries around the world and offer a huge selection of odds and bet options on the Derby. These include fixed odds markets prior to the race, with a no-runner no-bet policy and a ‘best bet odds guaranteed’ proclamation.

Most of the other big betting companies in the UK like William Hill follow a similar model to Bet365 with a huge range markets for the Derby. Cups Betting recommends Bet365 for UK, Australian and New Zealand punters betting on the Derby.

For punters in the USA BetOnline, who have a great reputation for fast cash-outs, usually have a market framed all year round for the English Derby. other options who usually have betting on this race include Bovada (North America).

Previous Englisb Derby Results

Year Horse Trainer Jockey
2021 ADAYAR(IRE) Charlie Appleby Adam Kirby
2020 SERPENTINE Aidan O’Brien Emmet McNamara
2019 Anthony Van Dyck Aidan O’Brien Seamie Heffernan
2018 Masar Charlie Appleby William Buick
2017 Wings of Eagles Aidan O’Brien Padraig Beggy
2016 Harzand Dermot Weld Pat Smullen
2015 Golden Horn John Gosden Frankie Dettori
2014 Australia Aidan O’Brien Joseph O’Brien
2013 Ruler of the World Aidan O’Brien Ryan Moore
2012 Camelot Aidan O’Brien Joseph O’Brien
2011 Pour Moi André Fabre Mickael Barzalona
2010 Workforce Sir Michael Stoute Ryan Moore
2009 Sea the Stars John Oxx Michael Kinane
2008 New Approach Jim Bolger Kevin Manning
2007 Authorized Peter Chapple-Hyam Frankie Dettori
2006 Sir Percy Marcus Tregoning Martin Dwyer
2005 Motivator Michael Bell Johnny Murtagh
2004 North Light Sir Michael Stoute Kieren Fallon
2003 Kris Kin Sir Michael Stoute Kieren Fallon
2002 High Chaparral Aidan O’Brien Johnny Murtagh
2001 Galileo Aidan O’Brien Michael Kinane
2000 Sinndar John Oxx Johnny Murtagh
1999 Oath Henry Cecil Kieren Fallon

More horse racing guides