2021 New Zealand 1000 Guineas betting guide

Racing Online - 2021 New Zealand 1000 Guineas betting guide
New Zealand 1000 Guineas
DATENovember 13, 2021
VENUERiccarton Park, Christchurch
DISTANCE1600 metres
PRIZE MONEYNZ$300,000 (US$213,000)
2020 WINNERKahma Lass

The New Zealand 1000 Guineas is one of the nation’s premier thoroughbred races for three-year-old fillies. Run every November over 1600m at Riccarton Park, the Group 1 event headlines the final Saturday of Christchurch’s New Zealand Cup Week. Here, we cover all you need to known about the NZ 1000 Guineas, including how and where to bet on the race.

Best bookmakers for NZ 1000 Guineas betting

NZ bookmakers do a roaring trade on the New Zealand 1000 Guineas, while there is also plenty of action to be had with wagering operators in Australia, Asia, Europe and North America. For the best NZ 1000 Guineas odds in 2023, we recommend the regulated betting sites below.

United States Bookies for the Hong Kong Sprint

Bookies for the Hong Kong Sprint

#1 Bovada

Live Betting Odds

Claim a 50% deposit bonus up to the value of USD $250

Available to residents of United States

2020 New Zealand 1000 Guineas results

1stKAHMA LASSJW Richards7OP Bosson56.5
2ndMISS TYCOON ROSE (AUS)M & M Pittman13SL Lynne56.5
3rdCORNFLOWER BLUEJW Richards2DS Johnson56.5
4thTINKER McPHEES & K Alexander9SR Weatherley56.5

NZ 1000 Guineas history

When the New Zealand Derby (Ellerslie) and New Zealand Oaks (Trentham) were moved from Riccarton in 1973, two new three-year-old races were created to fill the void: the New Zealand 2000 Guineas and the New Zealand 1000 Guineas. Both are named after English classics which are run at Newmarket each May.

While the 2000 Guineas is open to three-year-old horses of any sex, the 1000 Guineas is for fillies only. Both races are run over 1600m at set weights.

The name ‘1000 Guineas’ refers to the prizemoney that was awarded when the British race was founded in 1814. A guinea was the equivalent of £1.05, so the purse was a little over £1000. In New Zealand, the prize pool for the 1000 Guineas started at NZ$20,000 and now stands at $300,000.

While the Kiwi version of the race is relatively new, it is now a mainstay of the NZ racing program. The two three-year-old classics bookend New Zealand Cup Week in Christchurch each year, with the 2000 Guineas on the opening Saturday and the 1000 Guineas closing the carnival seven days later.

The race has produced some notable winners over the years. In 1982, Our Flight backed up her Levin Classic win with a 1000 Guineas triumph; Tycoon Lil saluted in 1997 and went on to win Group 1 races on both sides of the Tasman; in 2005, Seachange made it the first of her record seven NZ Group 1 titles; and in 2009, Katie Lee became the first horse to win both the 1000 Guineas and the 2000 Guineas.

New Zealand 1000 Guineas records

Most wins by a trainer: Two;

  • FP Campbell – Burletta (1983), Merry Maiden (1991)
  • DJ & PD O’Sullivan – Cure (1986), Snap (1993)
  • Jason Bridgman – King’s Rose (2010), Costa Viva (2013)
  • Peter & Dawn Williams – Planet Rock (2011), Media Sensation (2018)

Most wins by a jockey: Four;

  • Chris Johnson – Canterbury Belle (1984), Phillipa Rush (1989), Tartan Tights (1994), Lil Tycoon (1997)

Recent NZ 1000 Guineas winners

2020Kahma LassJamie RichardsOpie Bosson
2019LoireTony PikeMichael McNab
2018Media SensationPeter & Dawn WilliamsMichael Coleman
2017HasahaloStephen McKeeSam Spratt
2016La DiosaMandy & Matt BrownRacha Kuneen
2015RisqueS Autridge & J RichardsMatthew Cameron
2014Platinum WitnessLisa LattaDarryl Bradley
2013Costa VivaJason BridgmanLeith Innes
2012Rollout The CarpetJ McVean & E BrownMark Du Plessis
2011Planet RockPeter & Dawn WilliamsHayden Tinsley

Horse Racing Odds

    About To Jump Betting