Horse racing tracks in Australia

Racing Online - Horse racing betting - Horse racing tracks in Australia
United States Top Aussie Horse Racing Bookmakers

Top Aussie Horse Racing Bookmakers

#1 Bovada

Live Betting Odds

Claim a 50% deposit bonus up to the value of USD $250

Available to residents of United States

Victorian metro racing tracks

Melbourne, Victoria owns the largest, most prestigious and esteemed metropolitan racecourse – Flemington. Flemington hosts the biggest thoroughbred racing event to take place each year; the ‘race that stops a nation’ – the Melbourne Cup. The Caulfield Cup and the WS Cox Plate are also significant events on the Victorian racing calendar.

Racing Victoria Limited is the adjudicating body for all racing events in the state, while the Victoria Racing Club (VRC), the Melbourne Racing Club (MRC) and the Moonee Valley Racing Club are the three chief administrating organisations of metro events at the following four race tracks:

  • Flemington racecourse (VRC) – Circumference: 2,312 metres. Straight: 450 metres
  • Caulfield racecourse (MRC) – Circumference: 2,080 metres. Straight: 367 metres
  • Moonee Valley racecourse – Circumference: 1,805 metres. Straight: 173 metres
  • Sandown racecourse (MRC) – Circumference: 2,097 metres. Straight: 491 metres

For a more comprehensive guide to racecourses in Australia check out’s guide

Tracks Guide:

New South Wales metropolitan horse racecourses

New South Wales racing is overseen by the NSW Thoroughbred Racing Board. The Australian Turf Club (ATC) administers all metro racing events within Sydney and its surrounding suburbs. Metropolitan racing takes place at the following four major racecourses, which host events such as the Golden Slipper and the Doncaster Handicap:

  • Randwick racecourse – Circumference: 2,224 metres. Straight: 410 metres
  • Rosehill racecourse – Circumference: 2,048 metres. Straight: 408 metres
  • Canterbury racecourse – Circumference: 1,567 metres. Straight: 308 metres
  • Warwick Farms racecourse – Circumference: 1,937 metres. Straight: 326 metres

Queensland thoroughbred metro race tracks

Queensland racing is governed by the Queensland Thoroughbred Racing Board, and there are two major metropolitan tracks in the state of Queensland, both operated by the Brisbane Turf Club:

  • Eagle Farm racecourse – Circumference: 2,027 metres. Straight: 434 metres
  • Doomben racecourse – Circumference: 1,715 metres. Straight: 341 metres

Metropolitan racecourses in Western Australia

In Western Australia, Perth Racing runs metro racing events, and feature events include the Railway Stakes and Perth Cup. The following two metropolitan racecourses are utilised for summer and winter horse races:

  • Ascot racecourse (summer) – Circumference: 2,022 metres. Straight: 294 metres
  • Belmont Park racecourse (winter) – Circumference:1,699 metres. Straight: 333 metres

Metropolitan thoroughbred tracks in South Australia

Thoroughbred Racing S.A. Limited is the overseeing body to govern all racing events in SA, while the South Australian Jockey Club is the chief body for metro events, and feature races include the Goodwood Handicap and Adelaide Cup. The metropolitan tracks are:

  • Morphettville racecourse – Circumference: 2,339 metres. Straight: 334 metres
  • Morphettville Parks racecourse – Circumference: 2,100 metres. Straight: 320 metres

Tasmanian metro racing courses

In Tasmania, the Tasmanian Thoroughbred Racing Council (TTRC) is the officiating body to govern the racing industry, and major races include the Hobart Cup and Launceston Cup, which take place at the following metro tracks:

  • Hobart Racecourse – Circumference: 1990 metres. Straight: 350 metres
  • Launceston racecourse – Circumference: 1830 metres. Straight: 230 metres

Provincial and country horse and harness racing tracks in Australia

Here is a list of other major provincial and country racecourses around the country. Metropolitan racecourses are home to all the major Group races and are located within the major cities; provincial tracks are typically located just outside of the major cities, and still hold Group or Listed statuses; country race courses are not usually covered by online bookmakers or the TAB (punters can typically only bet on country races at the event).


  • Bairnsdale
  • Ballarat
  • Geelong
  • Horsham
  • Mornington
  • Pakenham
  • Sale
  • Seymour
  • Swan Hill
  • Wangaratta
  • Wodonga

New South Wales:

  • Canberra
  • Gosford
  • Hawkesbury
  • Lismore
  • Moree
  • Moruya
  • Mudgee
  • Murwillumbah
  • Muswellbrook
  • Narromine
  • Newcastle (Broadmeadow)
  • Nowra
  • Parkes
  • Port Macquarie
  • Queanbeyan
  • Sapphire Coast
  • Scone
  • Tamworth
  • Taree
  • Wagga
  • Albury


  • Beaudesert
  • Gold Coast
  • Gympie
  • Ipswich
  • Rockhampton
  • Sunshine Coast
  • Toowoomba
  • Townsville
  • Warwick

South Australia:

  • Oakbank
  • Strathalbyn

Western Australia:

  • Broome
  • Bunbury
  • Geraldton
  • Mt Barker
  • Narrogin
  • Pinjarra Park

Northern Territory:

  • Alice Springs
  • Darwin racecourse

Saturdays are considered the main days for racing in Australia, however there are many metro, provincial and country midweek racing events, too. Major metro meetings usually coincide with public holidays. Chief racing carnivals around the country are held at different times throughout the year:

  • The Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival
  • The Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival
  • The Sydney Spring Racing Carnival
  • The Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival
  • The Brisbane Winter Carnival
  • The Adelaide Autumn Carnival
  • The Perth Summer Carnival
  • The Tasmanian summer racing carnival
  • The Black Opal Stakes Day and Canberra Cup Day (March, in the Australian Capital Territory)
  • The Darwin Cup Day (August, in the Northern Territory)

The Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, which hosts Melbourne Cup Day, Derby Day, Oaks Day and Stakes Day, always receives the largest attendances which are often in excess of 360,000 spectators for the entire carnival.

Harness racing is also a major sport in Australia, and there are 91 tracks specifically for what is also known as trotting. These tracks hold over 1,900 meetings each year.